About Cesu  
Energy Conservation
Human Resources
Media Center
Customer Corner
Staff Login
Contact Us
About CESU - Organisation
  Organisation   Structure  


The Odisha Electricity Regulatory Commission (the Commission) vide its order dated 31.03.1999 passed in case No.2/99, under the provisions of the Odisha Electricity Reform Act, 1995, had issued License to   Central Electricity Supply Company of Odisha Ltd. (CESCO) Registered Office: 2nd Floor, IDCO Tower, Janpath, Bhubaneswar-751022, Dist: Khurda, Odisha, to carry out the business of Distribution & Retail Supply in the area of supply as mentioned in the said license. Under the said license, CESCO had been carrying out the Distribution and Retail Supply as its licensed activity in its area of supply as stated in the said license. The Commission revoked the license of CESCO with effect from 01.04.2005 and on 18.04.2005 the Commission appointed Chief Executive Officer and Administrator (CEO & A) to discharge the licensed activity of Central Zone Electricity Distribution and Supply Utility (CZEDSU). Later, vide order  dt.08.09.2006, the Commission in exercise  of power u/s 22 of the  Electricity Act,2003 has formulated a  Scheme named “ Central Electricity Supply Utility of  Odisha ( Operation  and Management ) Scheme ,  2006 for  operation and management of the  Utility. The said Scheme shall remain in force for a period of 2 years which may be extended by the Commission in public interest. Under the provisions of said Scheme, all assets, liabilities, rights, proceedings and manpower as  well as the license for  distribution  and supply of electricity held by CESCO has been developed and vested on  Central Electricity Supply Utility of Odisha (CESU)  and it has been authorized to carry out the  business of distribution of electricity in accordance with license conditions in respect of area  assigned to CESCO under revoked license  has to abide by the directions of the Commission issued from time to time. The period of the Scheme is further extended for a period of one year w.e.f. 08.09.2010 to 07.09.2011.As per provision of aforesaid scheme, the Commission has also constituted a  Management  Board for the general / overall management of  CESU.  The scheme was again amended and  extended upto 07.09.2016. Under the aforesaid Scheme, the CESU has to comply with the provisions of the Electricity Act, 2003 and other relevant statutory provisions and license conditions with regard to distribution of electricity in its area of supply.



Total customers 19,80,604
Domestic 90% (Rural Domestic-66%+ Urban Domestic-24%).
Commercial-8%, Industry-0.1%, Irragation-1%, Others-1%
B Total Input (in MU) 8297.32
C Total Billing (in MU) 5484.248
D Total Billing (in Rupees Cr.)    2829.12
E Total Collection (In Rupees Cr.) 2668.72
F Total Transmission  & Distribution loss (%) 33.90%
G AT &  C Loss (%) 37.65%
H BST Bill   2351.15 Cr.
I Total number of metered consumers 19,56,066
(I) Total OK Metered consumers 17,79,208
(II) Total defective metered consumers 1,76,858
(III) No meter 24,538
J Total Villages Electrified 11,825
K Total Private Points Energized 17,142
L Total Employees of all category 7370
M Total Numbers of Offices:
Circle 5(+ 2 others)
Divisions 20(+ 11 others)
Sub-Divisions 65(+ 12 others)
Sections 252

Grievance Redresal Forum

Ombudsman 1
Energy Police Station 8
No of special Courts 2



33KV Lines

3108.39 CKT Km


11KV lines

32,285.56 CKT Km


LT Lines

48,262.93 CKT Km


33 / 11KV Sub-stations

216 nos


33 / 11KV Power Transformers

496 nos

(vi) 33 / 0.4 KV Transformers & 11 / 0.4 KV Transformers 57,321 nos


33 kv feeders

147 nos


11kv feeders

750 nos


Powered By : CESU IT Centre